Suggestions for umbrella over Garden Tower

Questions on the Garden Training Project prompted me to prepare a possible guide. Just a thought.

.

Top side of dollyUsing my Garden Tower for illustration: At this point in time, before any soil, secure a rod.

.

Three trays full (2) Using my Garden Tower for illustration: Imagine you secured a rod.

.

Added zip tiesUsing my Garden Tower for illustration: Imagine you secured a rod and it is peeking out the top of the compost tube.

.

Full to the top and cap on compost tubeUsing my Garden Tower for illustration: Imagine you secured a rod and it is peeking out the top of the compost tube.

.

RodTower, rod and umbrellaHere is my suggestion: In the picture, the rod RVers use to pull out their awning. It is forty-six inches long with a hook at each end. Secure the rod to umbrella handle with a hose clamp.hose clamp

.

A broom handle might work?? ~~ Developing this blog stimulated another thought: Maybe this same configuration would work to shade the plants on extremely hot Texas summer afternoons? It would require a “beach umbrella.” Personally, I am already planning a shade cover for my Garden Tower in mid-summer.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Bungee cordSincere thanks to one subscriber for the following suggestion.  This link from yours truly.

You can fasten it down with bungy cords, from bottom, over umbrella to bottom again. A golf umbrella would work really well.

