Patio Pickers

The  morning of February 27th, I brought the Patio Pickers out of the tarp-shelter,  attached the casters, and washed away the dirt. I made the “investment” last Fall and recently felt compelled to “try it out.” Remember, in November, I decided to invest in a Garden Tower–and that is my “first love.”

Patio Pickers

.

Letter C with colorful people images
compelled

to

.

Letter A with multicolor people (matches others)
add

.
.

Yard garage sale signLetter R with multi-color stick figures
relegated

(to “yard sale”)

.

Letter E with colorful people images
extra

planters

.

Rehydrating coirMixture of soil and coir

.

Mixture into planterReady for seeds

.

Time will tell: Hopefully radish, and onions, will do well in these shallow planters. I’ve commented previously, I want to maximize my efforts by planting by the moon phases. Here is one guideline:

  • From full Moon through the last quarter, or the dark of the Moon, is the best time for killing weeds, thinning, pruning, mowing, cutting timber, and planting below-ground crops.

The moon phases for March 2016.
If I’m reading details correctly, I can plant until the eleventh of March? I’m especially interested in Watermelon Radish. It’s so unique (at least “new” to me).

.

Ready to plant by the moonOnions and radish planted

.

Burpee Heirloom Tokyo Long White onion with sell by date of Nov 2016. Burpee Organic Cherry Belle Radish with sell by date of Nov 2015.

Radish seeds sprouted overnightPostscript: March 12th, three days later, radish seeds have sprouted.

.

Watermelon radish plantedPostscript, March 29th: See how well the Cherry Bell radish is growing–but all “tops.” Green onions are overshadowed!! Watermelon radish just planted and not according to the moon. I’ll try random plantings.

.

Watermelon radish is sproutingPostscript, April 1st: Watermelon radish is sprouting. Cherry Belle radish are all tops!

